Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.

Woollahra Libraries Catalogue

PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The patron saint of pregnant girls / Ursula Hegi.

The patron saint of pregnant girls / Ursula Hegi.
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9781250156822 (hardback)
Author Hegi, Ursula author.
Title The patron saint of pregnant girls / Ursula Hegi.
Edition First edition.
Publisher/Date New York : Flatiron Books, 2020.
©2020
Pagination etc. 274 pages ; 25 cm.
Summary Note This novel is about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the Sisters who care for them. The Old Women and Men, competing to be crowned as the island's Oldest Person, watch, thinking they have seen it all. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, still just a child herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's. And all three will end up helping each other more than they ever could have anticipated. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, this novel is a shattering portrait of marriage and motherhood, and of the ways in which women hold each other up in the face of heartbreak.
Subject Pregnant women -- Fiction
Mothers -- Fiction
Circus -- Fiction
Maternity homes -- Fiction
Ocean waves -- Fiction
Children -- Death -- Fiction
Female friendship -- Fiction
Germany -- History -- 1871-1918 -- Fiction
Historical fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Shelf Location F HEGI
Catalogue Information 857868 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 857868 Top of page .