Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.

Woollahra Libraries Catalogue

PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

No presents please : Mumbai stories / Jayant Kaikini ; translated from the Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana.

No presents please : Mumbai stories / Jayant Kaikini ; translated from the Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana.
Item Information
Shelf Location Collection Volume Ref. Branch Status Due Date Res.
F KAYK
Adult Fiction Quick Browse   Double Bay . *, Quick Browse .  
. Catalogue Record 838337 ItemInfo Beginning of record . Catalogue Record 838337 ItemInfo Top of page .
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9781922310187 (paperback)
1922310182 (paperback)
Author Kāykiṇi, Jayanta, 1955- author.
Title No presents please : Mumbai stories / Jayant Kaikini ; translated from the Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana.
Publisher/Date Brunswick, Victoria : Scribe, 2020.
©2020
Pagination etc. 267 pages ; 21 cm.
Summary Note For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry, as well as Lorrie Moore and George Saunders, here are stories on the pathos and comedy of small-town migrants struggling to build a life in the big city, with the dream world of Bollywood never far away. Jayant Kaikini's gaze takes in the people in the corners of Mumbai - a bus driver who, denied vacation time, steals the bus to travel home; a slum dweller who catches cats and sells them for pharmaceutical testing; a father at his wits end who takes his mischievous son to a reform institution. In this metropolis, those who seek find epiphanies in dark movie theaters, the jostle of local trains, and even in roadside keychains and lost thermos flasks. Here, in the shade of an unfinished overpass, a factory-worker and her boyfriend browse wedding invitations bearing wealthy couples' affectations - 'no presents please' - and look once more at what they own. Translated from the Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana, these resonant stories, recently awarded the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, take us to photo framers, flower markets, and Irani cafes, revealing a city trading in fantasies while its strivers, eating once a day and sleeping ten to a room, hold secret ambitions close.
Language note Translated from the Kannada
Subject - Name Kāykiṇi, Jayanta, -- 1955- Translations into English
Subject Short stories, Kannada -- Translations into English
Mumbai (India) -- Fiction
Short stories.
Added Author Niranjana, Tejaswini, 1958- translator.
Shelf Location F KAYK
Catalogue Information 838337 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 838337 Top of page .