Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.

Woollahra Libraries Catalogue

PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The lido / Libby Page.

The lido / Libby Page.
Item Information
Shelf Location Collection Volume Ref. Branch Status Due Date Res.
F PAGE
Adult Fiction Quick Browse   Double Bay . *, Quick Browse . 31 Jul 2021
F PAGE
Adult Fiction   Paddington . Available .  
. Catalogue Record 787613 ItemInfo Beginning of record . Catalogue Record 787613 ItemInfo Top of page .
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9781409175216 (paperback)
Author Page, Libby author.
Title The lido / Libby Page.
Publisher/Date London : Orion Books, 2018.
©2018
Pagination etc. 376 pages ; 24 cm.
Contents note "Sometimes the only way to change your life is to swim outside the lanes..." -- Cover.
Summary Note "A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject--and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history--with the help of a charming photographer--she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations--an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"--
Subject Reporters and reporting -- Fiction
Female friendship -- Fiction
Older women -- Fiction
Shelf Location F PAGE
Catalogue Information 787613 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 787613 Top of page .