Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.

Woollahra Libraries Catalogue

PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The boat runner : a novel / Devin Murphy.

The boat runner : a novel / Devin Murphy.
Item Information
Shelf Location Collection Volume Ref. Branch Status Due Date Res.
F MURP
Adult Fiction   Double Bay . Available .  
F MURP
Adult Fiction   Paddington . Available .  
. Catalogue Record 775126 ItemInfo Beginning of record . Catalogue Record 775126 ItemInfo Top of page .
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9780062658012 (paperback)
Author Murphy, Devin author.
Title The boat runner : a novel / Devin Murphy.
Edition First edition.
Publisher/Date New York : Harper Perennial, [2017]
©2017
Pagination etc. 370, 13 pages ; 21 cm.
Summary Note In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.
Subject Hitler-Jugend Fiction.
Brothers -- Fiction
Teenage boys -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Participation, Dutch -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Jews -- Rescue -- Fiction
War fiction.
Shelf Location F MURP
Catalogue Information 775126 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 775126 Top of page .