Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.

Woollahra Libraries Catalogue

PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The outside lands / Hannah Kohler.

The outside lands / Hannah Kohler.
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9781509802128 (paperback)
1509802126 (paperback)
Author Kohler, Hannah author.
Title The outside lands / Hannah Kohler.
Publisher/Date London : Picador, 2017.
©2016
Pagination etc. 353 pages ; 20 cm.
Contents note First published: 2016.
Summary Note "San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organisation. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut."--
Subject Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Loyalty -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Choice (Psychology) -- Fiction
San Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Shelf Location F KOHL
Catalogue Information 761862 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 761862 Top of page .